Veggies for everyone!

February 22, 2011 § 2 Comments

Busy weekend in the kitchen. Well, busier than has been for the last few months. I spent about 2 hours in the kitchen Sunday afternoon, and then another 30 minutes or so Monday afternoon.

What was I making, you ask? All kinds of stuff. I’ve set a goal for myself this week to not spend money eating out. I’m trying to be creative with my meals, and I’m trying to be stringent about keeping to my budgets, and this goal meets both those requirements.

I made a big pot of rice, as well as a variation on curry sauce from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s 2nd Avenue Vegetable Korma. I picked up Appetite for Reduction over the weekend, based on a recommendation from the Ugly Green Chair and there are some amazing recipes in here. Not that I’m going vegan, or even strictly vegetarian, any time soon (I’ve tasted the stuff they call cheese and I’m sorry, but I can’t do it), but I’m always on the look out for a good way to get more yummy veggies in my diet. So I made the curry sauce, and I can pour that over rice, over lentils, over rice and lentils (watch me go crazy now), over other veggies, etc. (By the by, my alterations to the curry sauce from the recipe include omitting the ginger, because I didn’t have any, as well as the cauliflower, carrots, zucchini, peas, and cilantro).

IMG_1218

I also made that Vegetable Enchilada Casserole I talked about on Friday. I stopped at the tortilleria near work and picked up some corn tortillas and enchilada sauce before I left work, and if you have the option of finding authentic tortillas and enchilada sauce, I highly recommend it. I followed the “alternative” version, by layering everything in the casserole pan, and then I cut it into eighths. The only modification I made to this recipe was leaving off the green onions… but that was because I forgot. They’re still sitting in my fridge. Oops.

IMG_1215

There’s more to come! Stay tuned.

(apologies to anyone who came across this when the photos weren’t working… I don’t know what happened there.)

§ 2 Responses to Veggies for everyone!

  • Erin says:

    I completely agree with you about the whole “vegetarian” or “vegan” cheese thing… Blegh! I could never do it. (I tried to go veggie in highschool and was sick all the time…)

    I’m glad that you are coming out of hibernation. It does seem to be happening early this year for us Coloradans. Which means it’s going to be a long hot summer.

    But yay for creativity in the kitchen!

    • threadpanda says:

      I have a lot of feelings regarding vegan/vegetarianism, and while I admire folks who have that much will power, I’m happy to just eat vegetarian-y most of the time and spend the extra money to buy locally and humanely raised chicken when I want to cook with it. And yeah, the cheese.

      It does seem to be happening early this year for us Coloradans. Which means it’s going to be a long hot summer.

      Gross. I missed winter! Wasn’t that supposed to happen? Didn’t I leave Florida for seasons? Bah.

      Uh, yes, creativity! Creativity is good! 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Veggies for everyone! at Panda Eats.

meta

